pasterconstruction.blogg.se

Prolific usb to serial driver mac mojave
Prolific usb to serial driver mac mojave









prolific usb to serial driver mac mojave
  1. PROLIFIC USB TO SERIAL DRIVER MAC MOJAVE SOFTWARE DOWNLOAD
  2. PROLIFIC USB TO SERIAL DRIVER MAC MOJAVE INSTALL

Give the connection a title, keep the "Connect to" option blank, set the reconnect option to "Plain connection (no retry if failed)", set the emulation to VT100, and set the Device to "Serial/Modem". Go to Host Directory in Zoc and click on New. In my case, I am connecting to a Cisco Video Communications Server (VCS) so, some of the configuration parameters I show in the following screenshots are specific to the VCS. If you use Zoc, then here is the procedure for using the IOGear (or I suppose any device that uses the PL-2303 driver). It is a great app, but that is a blog entry for another day. I use Zoc Pro as a terminal application on my MBP and iMac. I didn't bother modifying the configuration, just click on Apply. In my case I saw a modem driver named "PL2303-". In Network Preferences, you should see the new network connection. Neither of these methods worked for me, just an FYI.

PROLIFIC USB TO SERIAL DRIVER MAC MOJAVE INSTALL

NOTE: The Prolific install guide (I found it online) said that you should be able to see the USB serial interface using System Profile or from the terminal using: ls /dev/tty.usbserial*. If you see this, click on "Network Preferences". When I connected the dongle, I received a prompt from OS X, which stated that a new Network Interface was detected. Execute the following: sudo kextload /System/Library/Extensions/osx-pl2303.kextĪfter completing the above steps, connect the dongle to an available USB port.Load a terminal shell (Applications>Utilities>Terminal).The driver I used did not prompt me to do that so I didn't. Most of the install docs I saw said reload the machine. To be honest, I am not positive the following steps are required but all of the various resources I looked at, had the following procedures in common:

PROLIFIC USB TO SERIAL DRIVER MAC MOJAVE SOFTWARE DOWNLOAD

I did a few more searches, focusing on software download sites and I found a link that worked: Now, at this point I have spent an hour or two digging around and I am thinking I have old stuff that may need to be recycled. Obviously, those threads are dated because that link didn't work either. There are a few forum threads that point to the download area on Apple.Most forum threads pointed to Prolific's website ( ) That link does not work today (404 error).Downloaded, installed, did some goofy editing and "kext" loading (whatever the hell that is). To avoid boring readers to tears, here is a summary of what did not work: There were several problems finding the right driver.

prolific usb to serial driver mac mojave

With a little Google magic, I was in business. Thankfully, the manufacturer affixed a label with a part number on the dongle. In fact, I didn't know what type of device it was at first. So, I wasn't holding out much hope on it working. I originally got it for an IBM thinkpad I had back in 2003 or 2004. Fortunately, I had an IOGear GUC232A USB to serial host adapter in my kit.











Prolific usb to serial driver mac mojave